Getting Back In Shape

**I will be posting about the roadtrip to Redlands and Palm Springs in the next day or so – until then, I thought I’d share a little about my Fitness Adventure… Authenchically…. 😉

I used to be able to run a 7 to 8 minute mile pace.  Well, “used to be” doesn’t count. But it can frustrate you when you find you’ve lost so much stamina that you’re down to a 15 min mile pace. That’s right. I am jogging slower than most people walk. Grumble, grumble, moan, complain. As I was “jogging” today, I started whining about how out of shape I am, and heard that ‘still, small Voice…’ say “Be grateful that you can jog at all!”  Too true, and shame on me. I may be out of shape, but I’m healthy enough to do something about it. I don’t have any physical limitations (other than lugging around this extra weight) to stop me from getting back to that 8min mile. Hallelujah! So instead of bitching, I focused on Gratitude.  Getting back into good physical shape starts by moving. “Put one foot in front of the other” may seem like such a basic suggestion, a ‘baby step’ … but sometimes that is exactly where we need to begin. If you haven’t worked out in a long time ( for whatever reason), or you have never been very physically active but find yourself in a place where that is exactly what you want or need to do, then we’re in the same boat… so let’s set sail, shall we?

Stage One of  ‘getting back in shape’ will last three weeks and will be referred to as the Gratitude Stage, hooyah.

for more 411 on getting back in shape, see my Gratitude for Movement under PROGRESSIVE PAGES on the side bar.

Leave a Reply

