Gallery

An Epiphany

Greetings!! This will be my attempt at trying to explain what provoked the adventure I’m about to embark on and the methodology (thus far) to my madness. Obviously the whole story is an ocean I’m unable to fully explore here, but I will attempt to dive just deep enough that it may require some lung capacity.

PART ONE

The Epiphany

Photo: themawmaw.blogspot.com
~
~
~
It was a conundrum really. The AhHa Moment. I found myself somewhere between a sea of glass and a meteor outburst. Although there were some MAJOR changes about to take place in my family, I was very comfortable. Too comfortable. I actually began referring to it as my  “Debilitating Comfort Zone” or “DBC Zone”. More on that another time.  So here I found myself, being propelled into this new existence on one hand, and completely able to sustain myself there if I so chose, on the other. The real question was “Did I really want to be here?”
~
~
The Epiphany happened on a day like any other (a major factor in the ultimate equation); I opened my Studio at 5:30am for my first client, pretty much worked all day, and then came home to pull Mama duty for the evening. This particular night, I was cleaning out my Treasure’s closet and happened upon a book she had gotten years earlier (maybe from Beloved Auntie Er?).
~
~
I’m a die-hard goal & list maker, and this little gem was all about setting goals and the steps one needs to take to reach them… little reward stickers included! Seriously. It’s a great little book. And not so little actually. The author, Lauren Catuzzi Grandcolas, was one of the passengers on United Flight 93. (For more info on Lauren click here)
The book weighs a good 4 lbs and is stocked with wonderful information and inspiring sources on everything from Scuba Diving and Finance to Automotive Care and (of course) Travelling.
Quite appropriately, the first Badge available for earning is for one to simply DARE TO DREAM. There is an exercise in Step Two which asks some basic albeit probing questions. After I finished answering mine, I read through them. I immediately realized that I had been focusing so intently on answering honestly, that I hadn’t noticed the blatantly repetitious nature of those answers. I can’t say I was shocked… quite the opposite. I felt relief. It was like pouring the concrete into a very thirsty, awaiting foundation. Nothing had changed. My Dream, however dormant it had been forced to remain, was Constant. Two words screamed out from the pages I had written. They screamed out loud, as if for their very lives. TRAVEL. HELP.
~
~
Photo: wkms.orgOver and over, these words resonated throughout the entirety of my probing soul-search. I wanted to travel the world. And I wanted to help people.
~
After 9/11, I wanted to go out to New York and volunteer. Anything to help. But I didn’t think I could. It wasn’t “realistic” with all of Life’s daily demands. 2004 brought that horrific Tsunami – I wanted to fly to Indonesia. I didn’t. When Katrina hit the summer of 2005, I wanted desperately to go out to New Orleans and help. Anything. But I didn’t. Once again, “real life” wouldn’t permit me to just drop everything and spend six months in a place where most people were fleeing, no matter how badly every cell in my body was burning to. For years on end I was wishing I could go to Uganda to work with the displaced Acholiland kids. They were forced to walk miles every single night to avoid being made into vicious soldiers or face execution. We did fully participate in Invisible Children’s Global Night Commute in 2006 – but it saddened me greatly that I didn’t do more. Haiti in 2010. Again, my heart was literally aching to GO. But I didn’t. It was too expensive and I had my business to run. You see a pattern here?
~

With this Epiphany, I realized that unless I DO, I will have lived my life not following my heart, not trusting the deepest part of me that says GO. And if I don’t follow my heart and trust the deepest part of myself, then I am not being me. Not really. Not Authentically. And if I’m not me, authentically, then what purpose do I really serve? I told you we might need oxygen down here. ;o)

did go on a short-term mission trip to Honduras several years back (Thank You Rick Kitchen) and still thought often about the experience there and the children who lived at the Orphanage, Emmanuel. In a global scope, those kids have it made. They are in a safe, loving, educational and supportive Christian environment. They are being taught how to not only be self-sustaining, but challenged to make a positive contribution to their country.
Emmanuel sends those with academic potential to college in the States, with the understanding that they are required to come HOME to Honduras and put in some productive years making a difference and helping their community. It really is a wonderful place.
(c) AuthenChic Pictures ~
~
But those kids would NOT have this Love, these provisions or opportunities, unless David & Lydia Martinez had the courage and devotion to follow their heart and trust the deepest part of themselves.
~
 ~
~
~
The Martinez’s turned the burning in their hearts into something tangible. Something ALIVE, that will stand firm, long after they pass into glory. It wasn’t handed to them easily. They prayed for it. They fought for it. They boldly WENT for it. They stood firmly on the exact Scripture that the Lord gave to me way back in 1998. At the time, I had no clue I would linger so long. So long caught up in so-called “life”. No matter -I was Thankfully, most thankfully, aroused from my slumber with this Epiphany. And thankfully, most thankfully, I was given the immediate strength needed to walk through the Open Door that presented itself to me only a few weeks later. I will close Part One with this Scripture from Habakkuk and an exhortation from the Martinez’s that precedes it.
~
~

If God has given you a vision, hold tight to it and wait–don’t lose it! If you aren’t sure about what He is telling you, ask Him to make it clear and known to you. Take your first step and He will show you your next step. He is faithful and so must you be. Habakkuk 2:3 says, “For the vision is yet for an appointed time and it hastens to the end: it will not deceive or disappoint. Though it tarry, wait for it, because it will surely come; it will not be behind schedule on its appointed day.”

~
~
AuthenChically yours, L
2 comments on “An Epiphany

  1. Dear Lisa, I have just arrived here after a long day of teaching and am very happy indeed to see your progress – wow. I have only just begun to read — and so far I am excited. I am going to send a link to Heather and Angie, at the Casa in Guatemala, I am sure they will be happy to see your interest in working with at the Children’s Village for six months. That would be amazing. I am supporting you all the way. Now I need to read some more!

    • Thanks so much!!! I hope to meet you in person someday! It is my plan to be at Casa by late November. I’m finalizing some things over the next two weeks, and will be sending them my confirmation date very soon!!

Leave a Reply

