Gallery

Sweet Dreams are made of This… (PCH Act II)

A DREAM COME TRUE!

Right before The Epiphany, I had already planned a road trip to Portland. It would take me (& whoever joined me) along the Pacific Coast Highway. Beginning near the Los Angeles area & driving up thru the Oregon coast, I daydreamed about the majestic views I would behold. I would spend some time in Eugene & Portland (I was considering a move there), and then return to New Mexico the ‘long way’, through Utah & Colorado.

A quick "Route Map" I sketched while making my PCH Roadtrip Plan

Driving the PCH has always been on my travelling “bucket list”, and this week, (the week of Aug. 18th, 2011) although I only made it from Oxnard through Monteray (the Oregon Coast saved for another time), I can now say I’ve not only driven the PCH, but was blessed enough to have done so on a Beautiful & Clear day – with limited traffic – and didn’t have to pay a penny in tolls. I’m finding out only now, how lucky I am the conditions were so pristine. ;o)

Armed for this second leg of the PCH Adventure with both Google Maps and Human Handwritten Directions, I braved the road once more. (Thanks Amanda & Mary!)Taking the Pacific Coast Highway is definitely known as taking “the long way”… but that is one of the beautiful things about travelling with Freedom. It’s not like a ‘vacation’ – where I must be back to work or school or here or there or anywhere…. (a wee bit of channeling of Dr. Seuss)

All that is gold does not glitter; Not all those who wander are lost. (from J.R.R. Tolkien)

I was told it would take between six (google maps) and nine (human experience opinion) hours to drive from Oxnard, Ca to San Jose, Ca. I planned for the nine. This estimate, mind you, included the neccessity of STOPS along the way to “ooooooohhhhh” and “aaaaahhhhhh” at the sheer Majesty I was about to behold.

Rather than spend time commontating, I’ll just let the pics do most of the talking.

~

~

“If you’re passing through Vineyards and rolling hills, you know you’re on the right path.”   – Amanda

 “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You
can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.” – Dr. Seuss

 

                                                         *Some Photos are available as ACEO/ATC Limited Edition Prints or Paintings by request.* 

So this covers the drive from Oxnard, taking the San Luis Obispo exit to get on CA-1 (PCH) – lots of serene areas (rural, vineyards, produce), like Santa Maria, that fill your nostrils with the Authentic smell of the Earth. All the pictures were taken from either inside my Land Rover on the side of the road, or at one of the MANY Vista Points available to pull aside into. And although I was initially bummed about taking this long drive completely Solo, it turned out to be just what Dr. Life Ordered. It was such a calming and equipping experience for what lies ahead of me. Sure it’s nice to have someone to share it with – to “oooh” & “ahhhh” with you – someone TO HOLD THE DAMN CAMERA so you can actually get a picture or two with you IN IT – But the experience holds such a deeper personal sense of communion with God and His glorious Creation when it’s just you and the Open Road. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Sublime.

 A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving.” (Lao Tzu)

Ciao for Now fellow nomads, L

Leave a Reply

