Gallery

Saying a BitterSweet Adiós to the USA

This post is most lovingly & admirably dedicated to Sir Ab Potter ~ a true Philanthropist, Adventurer, and all-round sublime human being. You are much missed & the world is a better place because you chose to lead a Life Well Lived. I love you Ab. ❤

My final days in Big Bear flew by in a bittersweet haze of preparation and farewells. I was absolutely giddy that we had a phat storm before I left, which seemed to dump a good 3′ of fresh powpow for me to romp around in. Heading off to Arizona and then the Caribbean, I was keenly aware that I will not have the pure pleasure of playing in the magical white loveliness for quite some time; I was extremely grateful for the early snowfall and relished every second of it.

After a ten or so hour drive, I landed in sunny Arizona, just in time for the Holidays. It may not have been a white winter per say, but my friend ‘Pirate’ certainly created a Winter Wonderland experience. Thousands of Christmas lights, a 12-foot Noble Fir decorated to the hilt and a Feast fit for a Queen..                     

My parents live on a gorgeous lake in Scottsdale, Arizona, so I was also treated to a few peaceful rides on their Sun Tracker Pontoon.
~ ~ ~
        
 We went fishing (caught a small bass, which we promptly returned to it’s watery home) and cruised around looking at all of the Christmas decorations that draped the homes this year. I hope you take the time to enjoy the photos in the slideshow below – they chronicle some really good times and beautiful sights!
*******
          

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

All in all, I spent a lovely six weeks spending time with family & friends, meeting  some entertaining & wonderful new people, doing some serious research on solo female travel in Latin America as well as making some last minute travel purchases (which I will share next time!). The biggest lesson I can share in this post is that if you find a super sic deal on a flight, make sure you beg, borrow or steal (jk – don’t steal!) and secure that price. I found an 80$ ticket to Cancun, with a 29 hour layover in Mexico City – woohoo!! I “saved” it on priceline, but didn’t purchase it because I was waiting for a check to clear – BAD MOVE. When I returned to book my ticket less than 48 hours later, Priceline deleted my saved flight and I ended up paying around 300$ for the same flight – without the sweet layover which would have allowed me the opportunity to see Mexico City for a day. Que sera sera.

I would like to add that I am extremely grateful that I had the opportunity to spend time with my “Mama” before taking off – and that my parentals were able to make the adjustments necessary to see me off on a midnight plane to Georgia…

  

So. What does it feel like to be standing on the precipice of a lifelong dream, about to jump off with only a one-way ticket and a buttload of hope? AWESOME! One can talk & talk until your tongue goes numb about “following your dreams” – but until you risk everything and actually go for it, it’s all just lip service. This is the real thing folks! I am tempted to add “for better or for worse”, but I believe that even the ‘worse’ is for the better, because you put yourself on the line. You went for it. This may be an overly quoted word of wisdom from Sir Twain, but it’s good to learn from successful people who have gone before you into the Land of Dreams –

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

So my little AuthenChic-a-dee’s, whatever your dream is, whether it’s as small as losing 20 pounds or as massive as going to medical school… GO FOR IT!! “You’ll always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” – Wayne Gretzky

4 comments on “Saying a BitterSweet Adiós to the USA

    • thanks Erica! Perhaps I will meet you in person if you trek back to Casa in the near future! =) I am so glad to have you along, I have mad respect for your nomadic & philanthropic heart!

  1. whatever. who the hell is sir abs? be on the lookout for lollipops por tia loca. anywhoe, so happy to know you are really there and not here talking about doing it over and over n ovaaaaa. chinga me.

    • mi loco auntie jojo!! Sir AB, my love, was one of my dearest clients & friends who recently passed away. He encouraged me in ALL of my ventures and ADventures alike – and was an EXTRAORDINARY human being… much like YOU my love!! And I am happy too that I am here and not just talking about it! BTW my precious… THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR GENEROUS DONATION. I actually cried. <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

